A Day Out in Hong Kong

I woke up at 3 am today and made my way to the airport where just four hours later I’d be on a plane bound for one of my favorite places on earth- Hong Kong. I have family there, and I absolutely love the environment. Everyday’s an adventure in HK, be it cramming myself in a packed bus on train car, to finding the best dimsum and treats. For this trip, I got to go with my friend Pat. A month ago, we decided to take a break from all the school stress (but let’s face it, school stress never stops. In fact, Pat’s beside me doing school work this very second) and head to Hong Kong for some much needed R&R. Despite our sleepy and drained countenances, we were determined to make the day productive.

After arriving at my aunt’s place where we will be staying, and after a hearty home-cooked lunch, Pat and I made our way to Tsim Sha Tsui to take the quintessential touristy photo of the HK skyline. After browsing through some shops in Harbour Mall, we decided to go to Times Square in Causeway bay where we (actually, I) did a lot of shopping. I managed to haul some good skincare treats such as an Origins Active Charcoal Mask, COSRX Blackhead Power Liquid, and Biore pore strips to name a few. I managed to grab two tops today, light and summery enough for me to where when I get back to the Ph. We spent forever in Eslite bookstore in Hysan place (a must see for all book lovers. Their selection’s insane!!!) and took the time to rest our sore feet and fill our bellies with delicious Japanese curry in Coco Ichibanya.

However, the highlight of the day would arguably be the night on top of Victoria peak. We got tickets to the observation deck where HK’s famous skyline can be seen in all its glory…. well, not quite. The night was really foggy so it was hard to get a decent picture of the skyline. What’s more, I didn’t get to bring my good camera along and instead relied on cellphone cameras. But no regrets! It was a fantastic sight to behold nonetheless. We went home with our wallets a bit emptier but our hearts fuller.

Now, back to doing my paper. Till next time!

Kat

Leave a Reply

